Ginger Muffins

Long over due but here she is!

I love ginger as a spice! She was also my favourite Spice Girl….but in baking I never use it as often as I’d like to. However I’ve cracked open the books and found a delightful recipe from the lovely Nigella Lawson. It’s lovely and dense and sweet but not overwhelming. I had to edit the recipe slightly due to allergies and personal preference, I was also missing some ingredients but luckily I found some alternatives knocking about the presses. In a way these are more like cupcakes because I smothered them in an icing (recipe lost) but they are fantastic on their own and sweet enough although nothing to stop you experimenting with toppings and flavour combos.

One weird thing about this recipe is it contains Balsamic vinegar, it works so just trust me. I think it does something chemically to make some very happy muffins. Smells a bit weird but when you mix everything to getter it’s wonderful! So just trust me…please

ingredients makes 12

250g Gluten Free flour

1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp Baking powder

2 tsp Ground Ginger

1/4 tsp Ground Clove

1/4 tsp Ground Allspice

1 large egg

50g Dark Muscavado Sugar or soft dark brown sugar

50g Light Muscavado Sugar or a soft light brown sugar

150ml Milk

1/4 tsp Balsamic Vinegar

6 Tbsp Oil e.g sunflower

4 Tbsp Golden Syrup

4 Tbsp Black treacle or Liquid Caramel

 

1. Preheat your oven to 200C and line your bun tin with muffin wraps. Take out two bowls, one for dry ingredients and one for wet and set them aside.

2.Take all your dry ingredients apart from the sugars and pop them all into a bowl. That’s your Flour, powders and spices all in one bowl and mix them up well. IT should smell subtly spicy, but add a touch more of your favourite spice or use cinnamon instead of allspice and bring it up to 1 full tbsp.

3. In your other bowl you want to beat your egg and then the sugars. Mix well to remove lumps. When smooth pour in milk, vinegar, oil and syrup. Whisk it all up till it gets slightly foamy.

4. Tip this into the dry mix and stir it in careful not to over mix. Should remain a tad bit lumpy and quite runny but don’t worry, just pour it into your cases about 3/4 full.

5. Bake for 20min, remove from the oven to cool when they have risen and the tops are dry to the touch.

 

4 Comments

  1. My mum is a massive ginger fan, may make her a batch of these.

  2. These look fantastically delicious! I have seen balsamic vinegar used this way before but I don’t remember ever using it in anything sweet myself. Someday!

    • Thank you. It was my 1st time seeing it used this way, so I was delighted it works…where eles have you seen it?

Leave a Reply

